Escape-llc's Diary

Coordinator
Jun 27, 2008 at 11:58 AM
I am working on a physics-based game, with 2-d physics and 3-d model rendering.  Models are created via XSI.  I must say the integration was pretty effortless, even though I was overwhelmed by lots of new ideas blahblah.
First off, I am totally new to game programming, but not programming in general.  This is a very interesting way of looking at things.
I don't like using inheritence much for design; it is more for implementation these days.  Interfaces are king now!
Since I wanted to build a game, I also wanted to build a platform at the same time so I could build another game easier next time.  I'm just like that.
So the update and draw callbacks are delegated out to lists of "packages" which are controlled by an implementation with respect to the controller (Screen Manager).
I am going with "flat" being more efficient than digging down through levels of virtual methods.  The delegate-based coupling helps reinforce this flat view, which is more akin to what one expects when building GUI "event handlers" in a typical IDE.
Using a stack to manage the input delegation is also a key concept that can't be expressed well with virtual method chains.  This makes it really straightforward to implement modal input, without resorting to "flags" and such.
Coordinator
Jul 2, 2008 at 12:21 AM

I had a real problem with getting collisions to work!!  I finally had to set breakpoints in the Farseer code, and found out I need CollisionGroup == 0 or it doesn't "recognize" the collision.  So, it was finding it all right, but the notification machinery was not configured to its liking.

After I made that little tweak, it is all gravy!!

Coordinator
Jul 2, 2008 at 12:22 AM
Just took 30 minutes and converted an existing XNA example project to Games Core.  Posted in the Releases.
Coordinator
Jul 5, 2008 at 12:11 PM
Superimposing text over the 3D model was a snap with Viewport.Project().